Staff & Governors

Teaching Staff – Academic Year 2014-15
Headteacher Mrs Selene Sawyer
Head of School (based at Infant School) Ms Maria Cornish
Head of School (based at Junior School) Miss Becky Adcock
Deputy Head of School (based at Infant School) Miss Hannah Kingsley
Deputy Head of School (based at Junior School) Mr Chris Hutchinson
SENCO Miss Lucy Finnie
School Administrator Mrs Val Jordan (LIANS)
Mrs Tonya Newton (LJS)
School Secretary Mrs Caroline Mandilakis (LIANS)
School Finance Officer Mrs Louise Knights (LJS)
Assistant SENCO Mrs Rachel Read
Independent Social Worker Mrs Laura Cary
Lionwood Infant and Nursery
Nursery (Cherry Class) Miss Sam Aldis
Reception – EYFS Leader (Damson Class) Miss Sophie Ford
Reception (Apple Class) Mrs Lara Harrey
Reception (Pear Class) Miss Nicola Warner
Year 1 – Year 1 Leader(Maple Class) Mrs Michelle Cleveland
Year 1 (Holly Class) Miss Rachel Snudden
Year 1 (Cedar Class) Mrs Kate Story/ Mrs Kirsty Joubert
Year 2 (Sycamore Class) Miss Lucy Finnie
Year 2 (Rowan Class) Miss Rachel Redpath
Year 2 (Willow Class) Miss Faye Herron
Nursery and Year 2 teacher Mrs Tracey Mills
Lionwood Junior School
3R (Year 3 Lead) Miss Lydia Read
3MT Ms Sam Thorpe/Mrs Abigail Murray
3B Miss Clara Bettermann
4S (Year 4 Lead) Mrs Louise Shields
4C Mr David Cocks
4P Miss Jasmine Presley
5W (Year 5 Lead) Miss Abbie Weeks
5H Miss Hannah Hunt
5K Miss Mione Knight
6H (Year 6 Lead) Mr Alex Henderson
6B Miss Jenna Barnes
6G Miss Sam Greef

Support Staff

Teaching Assistants
Lionwood Infant and Nursery School Lionwood Junior School
Mrs Sue Jervis Mrs Sandra Strike
Mrs Karen Bartram Mrs Janice Page
Ms Kim Burnett Mrs Kerry Didwell
Miss Megan Jones Mrs Joanne Larter
Ms Noelle Grimes Mrs Julie Hill
Miss Lily Monsey Mrs Kerry Wishart
Mrs Diane Stamp Mrs Zoe Wishart
Miss Jo Maasz Mrs Jayne Oxbury
Mrs Amanda Oliver Mrs Marie Snudden
Ms Vicki De Spretter Mrs Julie Hill
Mrs Denise Partridge Mrs Catherine Barnes
Mrs Carol Sides Mrs Dawn Aldis (MSA and TA)
Miss Amanda Bedder Mrs Zena Hancock
Mrs Talia Rashid Miss Rachel Clapson
Miss Natalie Higgins Miss Natasha Burr
Mrs Jo Donaldson Miss Sally Hoyles (MSA and TA)
Miss Jessica Ferguson Mrs Linda Jones
Mrs Sara Bolton Miss Isabelle Rose
Mrs Asia Ahmed Ms Claire Stroud
Miss Rebekkah Yates


Governors (Lionwood Federation)

The Governing bodies of Lionwood Infant and Nursery School and Lionwood Junior School elected to federate with effect on 1st September 2014, forming the Lionwood Schools Federation.

The Lionwood Schools Federation has 13 Governors. The Headteacher is a Governor and there is one further staff governor. The Governing Body is made up of representatives of the parents, staff, Local Authority, co-opted and associate governors.

Your school governors are:

  • Selene Sawyer (Executive Headteacher)
  • Sharon Forder, Chair of Governors (Parent Governor)
  • Patrick Neale, Vice Chair of Governors (Co-opted Governor)
  • Aimee Barter (Co-opted Governor)
  • Arnold Browne (Co-opted Governor)
  • Pamela Dons (Co-opted Governor)
  • Graham Hopkins (Associate Governor)
  • Hannah Kingsley (Co-opted Governor)
  • Alison Osborne (Local Authority Governor)
  • Glenda Platford-Prior (Staff Governor)
  • Briony Webb (Parent Governor)
  • Tim Wood (Co-opted Governor)

We are supported by Natalie Lee, Clerk to the Governors

Our Governors are responsible for the strategic vision of the schools and for supporting the Headteacher and her staff in achieving that vision. Governors have responsibility for appointing the Headteacher, managing the school’s budget, setting annual targets and monitoring performance against those targets, all in the interest of raising standards of achievement.

We have three committees on our Governing Body:

  • Personnel, Site and Finance – which includes Health and Safety.
  • Achievement, Teaching and Learning.
  • Behaviour and Safety – which also includes Health and Safety, Attendance and Safeguarding.

These committees meet twice a term and report back to the full governing body on all business, including safeguarding.  The Full Governing Body meets once a term.  Governors visit the school regularly, attending events and undertaking learning walks in order to effectively monitor the quality of learning at The Lionwood Federation.

If you are interested in becoming a School Governor please contact one of our Governors or the Headteacher for more information.

A Declaration of Pecuniary or Personal Interests is signed annually by every governor.  In every committee and full governing body meeting, there is space on the agenda for any declaration of interests that arise over the year.

Please click on the link below to access our Governors Details including the Register of Business Interests.